Sunday, March 03, 2024

We're not a club... so you're not a member!
Toggle Content   User Info

Welcome Anonymous

(Register)

Membership:
Latest: 65Ragtop
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 2170

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 68
Total: 68
Who Is Where:

Toggle Content   AZFJ Forums

Forums › Arizona FJ Discussion › General Discussion › AMP Remote wire....HELP!
 SearchSearch   Members ListMembers   ChatChat 
AMP Remote wire....HELP!
This forum is for general topics concerning the AZFJ community that do not fit in the other sections. This is not your offtopic rant forum. Please be respectful and keep it clean.
Post new topic   Reply to topic     |##| -> |=|      Forum IndexGeneral Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Flightmedic393
AZ Pinstriped
AZ Pinstriped


Joined: Mar 19, 2010
Posts: 127
Location: Lake Havasu City

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:05 pm    Post subject: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

I am attempting to wire a Rockford Fosgate amp in a 2010 FJ. When the install was complete the unit was dead. I checking when the remote 12 volt wire is tested prior to connecting to the amp it checks at 12 volts. After it is connected to the amp and checked it has 1.9 volts. I have attempted to bypass the sub switch and still have the same problem. The only was the amp with turn on is if I jump from the 12 volt power wire on the amp. Any suggestions?

_________________
Bad news doen't get any better with age.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desert_fj
Trail Runner
Trail Runner


Joined: Jan 02, 2009
Posts: 674
Location: Northern AZ

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:03 pm    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

Instead of using the remote wire from the HU use the wiper blade fuse or another source that only works when the vehicle is on. Sounds like something is wrong with the remote wire from the HU. Just don't hook a wire that is always hot then your amp will always be on(remote).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Photo Gallery
desert_fj
Trail Runner
Trail Runner


Joined: Jan 02, 2009
Posts: 674
Location: Northern AZ

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:08 pm    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

You wanna sell me your old sub switch???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Photo Gallery
Flightmedic393
AZ Pinstriped
AZ Pinstriped


Joined: Mar 19, 2010
Posts: 127
Location: Lake Havasu City

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:38 pm    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

I'm going to use it if at all possible.

_________________
Bad news doen't get any better with age.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flightmedic393
AZ Pinstriped
AZ Pinstriped


Joined: Mar 19, 2010
Posts: 127
Location: Lake Havasu City

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:23 pm    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

Thanks for the info....a 10 minute fix and all works well including the switch. I replaced the Head Unit with a cheap China Nav./DVD, then added a Rockford Fosgate amp and Subwoofer. All I need is about 1/3 of the total gain and punch. When money comes around I'll add a Kenwood Head Unit.

_________________
Bad news doen't get any better with age.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desert_fj
Trail Runner
Trail Runner


Joined: Jan 02, 2009
Posts: 674
Location: Northern AZ

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:05 pm    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

No problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Photo Gallery
glideraz
Baja Champ
Baja Champ


Joined: Jan 18, 2010
Posts: 4018
Location: avondale

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 3:48 am    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

also you the wires might be wrong on head unit some are confusing have a remote wire for antenna and a remote for amps. the one for power antenna's is a low voltage reading not enough to power amps, i have ran into this problem before (used to do vandalism repair on vehicles) just a thought

_________________
602-828-2437
i will give you 100 dollars cash for your fj glass
azfj owners are the best
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Photo Gallery
Flightmedic393
AZ Pinstriped
AZ Pinstriped


Joined: Mar 19, 2010
Posts: 127
Location: Lake Havasu City

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:12 am    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

Ya I know what you are saying....this is a cheap China radio, no paper work and other than the direct plug and play the other wires are a guessing game.

_________________
Bad news doen't get any better with age.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glideraz
Baja Champ
Baja Champ


Joined: Jan 18, 2010
Posts: 4018
Location: avondale

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: AMP Remote wire....HELP! Reply with quote

i ran into that alot when i was working that job it sucked alot of guessing and keeping your fingers crossed

_________________
602-828-2437
i will give you 100 dollars cash for your fj glass
azfj owners are the best
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     |##| -> |=|      Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum