Thursday, June 29, 2017

We're not a club... so you're not a member!
Toggle Content   User Info

Welcome Anonymous

(Register)

Membership:
Latest: Mrjoel326
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 1943

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 31
Total: 31
Who Is Where:

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

Toggle Content   AZFJ Forums

Forums › Technical Discussion › 4x4 Tech › Front end clunk
 SearchSearch   Members ListMembers   ChatChat 
Front end clunk
Howtos, reviews, and gear questions
Go to page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dozier77
Trail Runner
Trail Runner

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:49 pm    Post subject: Front end clunk Reply with quote

Yeah, a ton of threads about this on the interwebs with lots of different possibilities, but my situation is a little specific, so I wanted to see if anyone had any ideas.

I've been running the OME medium suspension for over four years. Just recently I realized the spring cups had been installed upside down (they were facing downwards like the stock cups, instead of upwards like the OMEs are supposed to). So, I took it apart and changed them. I also replaced both tie rod ends. Ever since putting it back together I get a substantial clunk when the suspension rapidly goes to full droop. This did NOT happen prior to the work I did. I have the stock UCAs, but I've verified the issue is not them hitting the spring. I've also tightened the top nut on the tower as well as I can. When jacking the front end up via the middle of the skid plate (simulating full droop) nothing seems to be hitting, and the clunk doesn't happen. I'm unsure if this actually creates full droop or not. I believe I clocked the spring cups correctly when reinstalling, and I don't see anyway the cups are making contact during the droop, so I don't think that's the issue. Driver side is definitely doing it, but I'm not sure about the passenger side.

I have a couple of quick videos of the issue in action:

Any suggestions?